Virugambakkam to be new Assembly constituency

By Our Staff Reporter

Like elsewhere, changes in the extent of the State Assembly constituencies which fall under Chennai city have been made. These changes have affected the neighbourhood too.

This is subsequent to the delimitation exercises to bring about uniformity in the size of population in each Assembly segment. 

Virugambakkam, the biggest division in Chennai Corporation is now a new Assembly constituency in Tamil Nadu. 

This constituency will include areas under Divisions 65 (Virugambakkam), 128 (K K Nagar and Nesapakkam), 129 (Saligramam), 130 (K K Nagar, MGR Nagar, Rani Anna Nagar), 131 (Jafferkhanpet, MGR Nagar).

Previously, most of these areas fell under Villiwakkam constituency, a huge segment.

Virugambakkam Assembly constituency will now fall under Chennai South parliamentary constituency.

Vadapalani and Ashok Nagar areas will continue to be under T Nagar Assembly constituency (Chennai south, parliamentary constituency). There is no change in these divisions.

Valasarawakkam which was under Villiwakkam Assembly constituency hitherto, will now fall under Maduravoyal Assembly and Sriperumbudur parliamentary constituency.

This entry was posted on Wednesday, June 25th, 2008 and is filed under News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

One Response to “Virugambakkam to be new Assembly constituency”

  1. S.r.Neelakantan on June 25th, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Dear sir,

    The government may create a new Assembly Constituency amalgamating the various existing city areas.What is the use? Whether the public will get better treatment?Will there be any improvement in the civic amenities. ?Instead of “X”, “Y” will be representing our constituency. No asker. No teller.Peoples suffering will remain ever.


Leave a Reply