AIADMK’s Rajendran is new Chennai South MP

The AIADMK candidate ‘Chitlapakam’ S. Rajendran won in Chennai South constituency in General Elections 2009. Areas like K K Nagar and Virugambakkam fall under this constituency.

(Photo shows senior AIADMK leader Ponnaiyan greeting the new MP)

He beat his nearest rival, the DMK’s R S Bharathi by 32,935 votes in a keenly contested election.

The result was made public on May 16 at about 5 p.m. Counting took a great deal of time because there were 43 candidates in the fray, three EVMs were employed in each booth and all these had to be accounted for.

The counting took place at the College of Engineering campus, Guindy.

The celebrations by the AIADMK camp was muted since the party did not make a sweep in the state in a  manner they had expected.

Former Union Minister T R Paalu was elected from the Sriperumbudur constituency. He defeated the PMK’s A K Moorthy in a ┬ákeen contest.

Valasarawakkam falls under this constituency.

This entry was posted on Tuesday, May 19th, 2009 and is filed under Lok Sabha Elections, News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

3 Responses to “AIADMK’s Rajendran is new Chennai South MP”

  1. P. Muthukrishnan on May 26th, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Please furnish the residential address/ phone No. /contact time of the elected South Chennai M.P. Chitlapakkam S.Rajendran to the public so as to meet personally. This has been left to cover your election result. Will you please intimate in the next issue. P.Muthukrishnan

  2. admin on May 28th, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    We will post the full address and contacts once the MP opens an office for the people – he has not done this so far.

  3. T.S. Kannan on June 9th, 2009 at 9:29 am

    Kindly give me ur mail address for contact and congratulate for ur victory as S.Chennai MP.

Leave a Reply