Elections 2011: parties choose seats, candidates for your area

The wheels of Elections 2011 for the TN state Assembly are rolling. The AIADMK party released its list of candidates and the other parties are due to do so in a  day or two as Election Day – April 13 – is less than a month away.

There are many changes in the limits of the local area constituencies. The areas were redrawn in the delimitation.

Many people are not aware of this though they may be casting their vote at booths they are familiar with.

But the ignorance will confuse you when you begin to look at the candidates and the parties they belong to.

If you take the sprawling Arcot Road region into account, then this falls under many Assembly constituencies.

They are T. Nagar on one side, Saidapet on one side, Virugambakkam on another and at the far end, Maduravoyal.

Virugambakkam is a new constituency. It covers Virugambakkam, Saligramam and Kodambakkam. Here, R. Kamalakannan has been chosen by the AIADMK to contest. The DMK has chosen council zonal chief Dhanasekaran to contest.

K K Nagar falls under the Saidapet constituency. The AIADMK’s Senthamizhan has been named.

Vadapalani West, Ashok Nagar – MGR Nagar areas fall under the T. Nagar seat. AIADMK has picked strongman V P Kalai Rajan to contest here.

Valasarawakkam comes under the newly formed Maduravoyal constituency.

This entry was posted on Friday, March 18th, 2011 and is filed under News, TN Elections. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply